Board & Management

The Cyprus Broadcasting Corporation (CyBC) is a legal entity governed by the Public Law and established in accordance with the Cyprus Broadcasting Corporation Law, Chapter 300A. The CyBC is governed by a Board of Directors, consisting nine members, who are appointed by the Council of Ministers for three-year term of service. The Senior Executive of the CyBC is the Director General, to whom in accordance with the Radio Broadcasting Act, ‘the Corporation delegates all of the responsibilities that are required to enable him to carry out his work efficiently’


Board of Directors


Chairman of the the Board of Directors

Thanasis Tsokos

Thanasis Tsokos was born in Nicosia in 1970. he graduated the Economic Sciences Faculty of the University of Piraeus, and holds a Postgraduate degree from the Social Sciences and Journalism Faculty of the Frederic University of Cyprus in Communication Sciences, titled ‘Mass Media in a period of Crisis’. He  served as a Chairman of NEDYSI and as a member of the Board of Directors of the Youth Organisation of Cyprus, whereby he represented the Republic of Cyprus at a number of international conferences. He is a member of the Political Office of the Democratic Rally (DYSI) of Cyprus. He supervised a number of editions, while he is the author of the following books: ‘Glafkos Clerides, the Visionary’, on the life and service of former President of Cyprus and founder of DYSI, and ‘A Critical Glance’, which includes 127 articles published in the daily press 1993-2008. He is married to Soteroula Kyriakou-Tsokos, and has two children, Machi and Kostantinos.

Members of the Board of Directors

Stella Michaelidou – Vice President

Yiannos Pantazis – Member

Panos Panagiotou – Member 

Maria Chistofidou – Member

Charalambos Chrysostomou – Member

Stavros Ioakin – Member

Charis Neofytou – Member

Eleni Louka – Member  



Director General 

Michael Maratheftis

Michael Maratheftis was born in Limassol in 1974. having completed his secondary education in Italy, he returned to Cyprus for his military service in the National Guard. He continued his studies in the United Kingdom where he graduated with a Joint Honours degree in Accounting & Banking from the University of Wales and subsequently was awarded a Masters degree in International Business Management from the University of Westminster.  Prior to joining the CyBC, he held top managerial positions at the Louis Group and RCB Bank, while he also served as a member of the Board of Directors of CYMEPA and the Cyprus Theatre Organisation.